Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content

Awards Night


Awards Night

The annual Roma State College Awards Night held on Wednesday celebrated the successes of our students at Middle and Senior Campuses. The younger students from Years 4 to 6 were awarded in the first half of the ceremony, with entertainment provided by the RSC Concert Band and the String Ensemble led by teacher, Mr Sam Muller.

Principal, Mr Guy Hendriks began the second half with an inspiring and thoughtful address. Recognition of the pleasing achievements of students from Years 7 to 12 followed.
Both parts of the programme were capably commentated by our four school leaders: Kirsten, Jordan, Ben and Rory. The proceedings ran professionally with students and presenters moving quietly and efficiently to ensure a pleasant and enjoyable evening. As one appreciative parent commented, “I am blown away by how well the school leaders presented. They did an amazing job.”
Senior Campus Subject and Merit Awardees in each level were commended for their hard work and the athletes who made South West teams applauded. The outstanding achievements of sisters, Molly and Sadie Ferguson in representing Australia in waterskiing, and Josh Dare in representing Queensland in polocrosse were also acknowledged. The sporting prowess of College Sportsman Ben York and Sportswoman Abbie Just was celebrated.
The graduating class of Year 12 were the stars of the evening as they collected their major awards. Kirsten Steinohrt was the 2018 Dux but there were many others whose academic and community achievements were worthy of celebration. The valedictory speech, delivered confidently by Lilly Haddock, was sincere and amusing.
A fitting conclusion for the evening was the announcement of the College Leaders for 2019: Cameron Boon, Brianna Knayer, Hannah Lacey and Jeriah Sharpe.
Congratulations are extended to all awardees for 2018.